top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Big PICture

Macular Week 2023: Let’s Keep the Conversation Going…


Picture description: I have edited a central blind spot over my logo so that it cannot be seen, with the exception of some text at the top of the image which reads: "Macular Week 2023".

Two weeks ago it was #MacularWeek, so let’s keep the conversation about macular disease going!


So I've attempted - and I do say attempted, because I am by no means, a videographer - to make a video that highlights what life might look like for someone with macular disease. Although PIC is a type of macular disease, the video does not depict my sight, but tries to demonstrate what someone with an advanced form of macular disease would see. The fundus photos are mine though, as I didn't want to just take a photo from someone who is very unaware that their eyes are being used!


Below are the two videos I have made - the content is the same for both, but the second one is audio described, so please watch the second one if that is your preferred accessibility option! The version with audio description is a bit longer as I had to slow down the clips as I couldn't describe the videos quick enough! I also apologies; I had a cold when I recorded it so a few parts sound very croaky. It is my first time audio describing though, and I'm really keen to be creating accessible content, so if anything needs improving, please let me know!


The purpose of the video is to show how life can look with central vision loss; it can be really difficult to imagine, especially as many people assume that sight loss of any degree means that the person sees complete darkness. Although this is the case for some people, 93% of people registered blind actually still have some sight.


With macular disease, a person typically does not lose their peripheral vision, so they will not experience complete loss of sight. In addition to the central scotoma (blind spot), a lot of people with central vision loss can also experience ‘strobing’ or flashing spots, distorted vision (where things appear wavy), loss of colour perception and night blindness, where you lose all, or most of your sight in low lighting.


Although some of these videos may look frightening, people with macular disease can and still do live very full, happy lives, and with some adaptations, most day-to-day activities are still possible! In the coming weeks I will be creating more videos and posts about what equipment and adaptations can help manage and support independence with daily tasks - so watch this space.


I hope this video helps improve awareness of macular disease 😊


Please be aware that the video contains some clips which have flashing lights.


Version WITHOUT audio description:

Version WITH audio description:


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page