top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Big PICture

In the PICture: Lauren's Story

Updated: Oct 18, 2021


A photo of a woman in purple clothing
Picture description: Lauren, a white woman, is stood in her home. She is wearing black-framed glasses, her long, straight brown hair is down and over one shoulder, and she is wearing a purple and black dress. Behind her is a multi photo-frame and a piece of wall art.

A big thank you to Lauren for writing up her story for me to share as part of the 'In the PICture' series! Lauren was diagnosed with PIC a few years ago but has had a recent flare up. Please read below to find out more about her experiences...

 

Hi, my name is Lauren, a 31 year old mum of 2 boys from the North East. I'm an avid crafter, reader, and amateur Archaeologist. I also have a rare eye condition called Punctate Inner Choroidopathy (PIC) which makes all of the things I enjoy that little bit more difficult to do.


I was first diagnosed back in 2018, when I went for a routine eye check at my local opticians. She looked over the photos taken of my eyes, and discovered multiple small scars on my left eye. This eye is short sighted, and she made a guess that it might be PIC. Luckily these were not active, and there was no evidence of a current flare up. My right eye was unscathed, however I've had issues with it since I was a child, and glasses have never fully corrected its blurring or laziness. My left eye has always compensated for it.


From that appointment, I was referred to the local eye infirmary to get it investigated further. Looking at the photos and examining the eye, the Doctor confirmed the opticians prognosis of PIC, but it was indeed inactive and no course of treatment was prescribed at the time. He'd see me in 6 months. At the time I wasn't sure what it all meant, and even now, with such little information and little known about it, I'm still unsure of exactly what it all means for the future and my eye health.


A couple of appointments passed without incident, bring us to 2020. I was due to have an appointment in May 2020, but when the first lockdown happened all appointments were cancelled. Fine I thought, my eye seems to be ok from the past couple of appointments, I'm sure I'll be fine until they can rearrange. In the meantime, I was in lockdown with my 2 small boys, attempting to home-school and manage my fibromyalgia flare ups due to the stress of the whole situation we were all finding ourselves in. Little did I know that stress was also causing a flare up in my left eye. I was getting floaters in my vision and a bit of blurring and slight peripheral vision loss, but I put it down to tiredness as I was only asked to go to the eye infirmary A&E if I ever lost central vision suddenly.


I finally got a rescheduled appointment for December 2020. At this appointment, things had changed. There were more, active scars, and inflamed jelly. Turns out those floaters and blurring were trying to tell me something. I was put on a course of immunosuppressants and steroids to try and stop it, to dampen down my immune system so that it stops attacking my eye and so it won't reach my central vision. Those, along with twice monthly blood tests to make sure the medication isn't having an adverse effect on my body are the current new normal for me.


I don't know what the future holds for me and my eyes. This illness is chronic. It could appear at any time and take my sight from me. Even if left with my right eye, it's so blurred I'd struggle still. I'm hoping it at least holds out until my boys are older. Until I can achieve some more dreams. I feel even more in limbo not knowing than I would if I at least had a time frame, but this cannot be given. It's taught me to try and do more and achieve more, but with the current situation we are all finding ourselves in that's a hard ambition to achieve.


I'm looking forward to the day lockdown ends and it's safe for me to go outside so I can enjoy days out with my family while I'll still be able to enjoy them with full, albeit slightly blurry vision.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page